I haven’t posted in awhile, which is due to a lot of things. There was an opportunity at work that I hoped would pan out, which ended up really not working at all, partly due to a miscommunication with my autism. I’m still kicking myself about it. There was also a big fight with my Dad over a job application (long story) that I’m still not 100% over.

Most of all, though, it’s been hard to be interested in food because my health has been doing weird things. My stomach and general gastrointestinal tract, specifically. I’ve had GERD for years, which my mother also deals with, but since I got multiple sclerosis a few years back, I’ve also been having symptoms of IBS that I’d never experienced up until then. I think this has been an effect of both the MS itself, and the medication I’m on for it, Tecfidera, which lists both nausea and some GI problems as possible side effects unless I’m mistaken.

I currently have an active lesion, according to my last MRI, and I think it could be playing up my digestive issues again. I’ve been having more GI issues and more extreme acid reflux than usual, in addition to some resurgence of other symptoms (and depression, which the neurological effects of the MS may or may not worsen – conversely, my SSRI may be impacting the MS symptoms).

I’ve been to a gastroenterologist and had bloodwork done, and the next step is a fasting sonogram over the next week. I’m in the process of looking for patterns of foods that tend to activate my systems, and trying to figure out exactly what’s going on and how to stop or minimize it.

Thanks to the gastroenterologist, I have a new list of foods, specifically the low-FODMAP diet, which I’m trying out at the moment. Some parts are doable; some parts haven’t been. I’ve been finding that some high-FODMAP foods don’t seem to bother me, and sometimes even low-FODMAP foods are no guarantee I won’t have cramps or runs.

This is further complicated by the fact that I’m a Type 1 Diabetic with insulin resistance and a high A1C, and anti-insulin resistance diets are supposed to be low in carbs and high in protein, vegetables, and multigrain food as opposed to sugars, fats, and simple or processed carbs (such as white bread). I find that fruit, vegetables, and multigrain/whole grain stuff are things that seem to activate the IBS.

For additional complications, there are also a number of proteins – tofu and black beans, for instance – that are healthy and that I actually enjoy, but that are apparently high-FODMAP.

I’d love to post some low-FODMAP, IBS-friendly, or gluten-free recipes or reviews, but I’m having a hard time enjoying food or feeling anything but done in general right now. Hopefully this changes soon. I don’t know if I feel comfortable reposting recipes from other places (with credit obviously), but I may not have a choice. I want this blog to work and I want my writing to work, but I don’t know if I have the spoons right now.

Leave a Reply

